Today we visit the church of Saint Lawrence. The name Lucina refers to the Roman woman who owned the property on which this church was built. During the fourth century she hid Pope Saint Marcellus in her home during the Maxentius persecutions. At least one papal election took place here in the year 366 when Pope Saint Damasus was elected pope.
In the fourth century a small oratory was built over the ruins of Lucina’s house. The church was dedicated Titulus Lucinae, one of the first twenty-five parishes of Rome. It was restored several times before being completely rebuilt in 1112 under Pope Paschal II.
Over the high altar is a famous painting of Christ’s crucifixion by Guido Reni. Below the altar is the gridiron on which Saint Lawrence was martyred.